L-Space

Another place, another time... in an age of wander

  • Senior librarians are also taught how to deal with the dangers of navigating L-space, such as the "harmless kickstool crabs, large and heavy wandering thesauri, the .303 bookworm and the dreaded clichés, which must be avoided at all costs."
  • The name L-space is based on use of E-space (Exo-space) and N-space
    (Normal space) used by Doctor Who.
  • L-space, short for library-space, is the ultimate portrayal of Pratchett's concept that the written word has powerful magical properties on the Discworld, and that in large quantities all books warp space and time around them. The principle of L-space revolves around a seemingly logical equation; it is an extension of the aphorism 'Knowledge is Power'
  • {Books} = {Knowledge} = {Power} = {{Mass} x {Distance}2} x {{Time}3}.
  • Large quantities of magical and mundane books create portals into L-space that can be accessed using innate powers of librarianship that are taught by the Librarians of Time and Space to those deemed worthy across the multiverse.
  • Libraries with enough books to open a portal are often large and sprawling; those venturing into L-space may not necessarily know that they have arrived.
  • The floor and ceiling of L-space follow the floor and ceiling of the library used to access it; the best example of this is that the central dome of Unseen University's library is "always overhead".
  • In every direction and as far as the eye can see bookshelves stretch off, meaning the nature of any walls are unknown.
  • Essentially, all bookstores are potentially infinite in extent; gateways into literary hyperspace: "a good bookshop is just a genteel blackhole that knows how to read."
  • Because L-space links every library, (and also possibly Death's Autobiography Library), it is possible to reach any one of these throughout space, time and the multiverse. This means that there are potentially other forms of data storage other than books as it represents every library anywhere.
  • One can read any book ever written, any book that will be written at some point and books that were planned for writing that were not, as well as any book that could possibly be written.
  • Adventurers may find markings and scribbled notes on the shelves to help them navigate.
  • Opening Ceremony: 7pm Friday July 5

  • Closing Ceremony: 3pm Monday July 8

Contact Us

By email:

General enquiries - info@nadwcon2013.org

Chair - Richard Atha-Nicholls - chair@nadwcon2013.org

Art Show - Lyn Marie Neuenfeldt - artshow@nadwcon2013.org

Dealer Liaison - Chris Edwards - dealer@nadwcon2013.org

Maskerade Director - Marty Gear - maskerade@nadwcon2013.org

Program - Colleen Cahill - program@nadwcon2013.org

Charity Auction - John Hicks - auction@nadwcon2013.org

Hotel - Marty Gear - hotel@nadwcon2013.org

Guild Liaison - Dani Carvalho - guilds@nadwcon2013.org

Ad Sales - Jennifer Dustin - adsales@nadwcon2013.org

Gala Banquet Queries - Amy & Jen - gala@nadwcon2013.org

Volunteers - Melissa Hayes - volunteer@nadwcon2013.org


By post: RavenQuoth, Inc, P.O.Box 651, Severna Park, MD 21146

As always, please check your spam folder regularly after you have emailed us as replies do sometimes get mis-identified as "junk mail". If you don't appear to have had a response from us after a full week, please contact us again.

If you would like to help out at the convention, please tick the relevant boxes on your convention membership application form or email volunteer@nadwcon2013.org to get involved.

An event brought to you by RavenQuoth, Inc.